Bicameral Call for Greater Transparency in Political Spending

June 23rd, 2015

Rep. Eshoo and Senator Whitehouse Lead Over 100 Members of Congress in Urging President to Act

WASHINGTON, D.C.—In separate letters sent by House and Senate lawmakers today, Congresswoman Anna G. Eshoo (D-Calif.) and Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.) led 104 House Members and 26 Senators, respectively, in calling on the president to issue an executive order requiring companies that do business with the federal government to fully disclose their political contributions.

“Taxpayers have a right to know where their money is spent and you have the power to ensure that the American people can obtain this information,” the House lawmakers wrote in a June 23, 2015 letter to President Obama. “With public funds come public responsibilities, and any company receiving federal tax dollars should be required by executive order to fully disclose their political spending in a timely and accessible manner.”

Senators echoed the same sentiment, saying, “Political spending by government contractors is a problem you can address without congressional authorization. You would be on solid legal ground if you were to issue an executive order requiring disclosure of political spending by entities that have been awarded government contracts and their senior leadership… An executive order will not solve our campaign finance problems but it will at least be a step in the right direction, and will show your Administration’s commitment to transparency and fairness.”

Under current law, the president can take immediate action to increase transparency by requiring companies that receive federal contracts to fully disclose their political expenditures. Among the top 15 recipients of federal contracting dollars, a recent analysis by Public Citizen found that only 47 percent fully disclose their contributions to non-disclosing 501(c)(4) organizations.

In an April letter to White House counsel, Whitehouse was joined by Sens. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Al Franken (D-Minn.) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) in urging the administration to take similar action. Senators joining today’s letter include Judiciary Committee Ranking Member Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) and members of the Democratic leadership, including Sens. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), and Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.).

This is the fourth time Eshoo has led her colleagues in calling on President Obama to issue an executive order. She first wrote to him on the issue in 2011. House Members joining today’s letter include Rep. Donna F. Edwards (D-Md.), Chairwoman of the Democracy for All task force, and other members of the House Democratic leadership.

A copy of today’s letter from House lawmakers can be viewed here.

Current Signers (104): Eshoo, Capuano, Israel, Edwards, Grijalva, Ellison, Davis (Calif.), Van Hollen, Norton, Larson, Cárdenas, Polis, Pingree, Lofgren, Gutiérrez, Chu, Crowley, DelBene, Brady (Penn.), Lowenthal, Capps, Farr, Sherman, Hahn, Roybal-Allard, Takano, Clark, Loebsack, Tonko, Brownley, Matsui, Yarmuth, Kaptur, McCollum, Bonamici, Kelly (Ill.), Lee, McGovern, Honda, Lowey, Conyers, Esty, Sarbanes, Pocan, Nolan, Slaughter, Nadler, Watson Coleman, Fattah, Schiff, Welch, Deutch, Walz, Dingell, Gallego, Tsongas, Garamendi, Rice (N.Y.), Huffman, Moore, Boyle, Langevin, Green (Texas), Price (N.C.), Lewis, Lieu, Speier, Jackson Lee, Lawrence, Lujan Grisham, Cartwright, Blumenauer, Kilmer, Cicilline, Frankel, Napolitano, Quigley, Moulton, Schakowsky, Luján, McNerney, Cummings, Richmond, Becerra, Swalwell, C. Maloney, Courtney, DeFazio, Murphy (Fla.), Rangel, DeSaulnier, Carson, Serrano, Grayson, DeLauro, Larsen, Pallone, Duckworth, Castor, Clarke, Heck (Wash.), Doyle, Jeffries, Hastings.

A copy of the Senate letter can be viewed here.

Senate Signatories (26): Sheldon Whitehouse, Al Franken, Bernie Sanders, Tom Udall, Elizabeth Warren, Patrick Leahy, Chuck Schumer, Dick Durbin, Patty Murray, Sherrod Brown, Kirsten Gillibrand, Chris Coons, Ed Markey, Tammy Baldwin, Gary Peters, Jack Reed, Robert Menendez, Bob Casey, Richard Blumenthal, Cory Booker, Ben Cardin, Michael Bennet, Jeff Merkley, Mazie Hirono, Dianne Feinstein, and Amy Klobuchar.

# # #

Get Updates from Anna

How Can Anna Help You?

In this section, you will find information on the many ways my office can help you and your family. Below is a list of the issues we commonly address. If you cannot find what you're looking for, please either email me or call my Palo Alto District Office and we will do our best to answer any questions you may have.

Anna's Voting Record

View All

Thomas Bill Search


Without direct government negotiation, American prescription drug prices have soared. The annual cost of prescripti…

October 17th, 2019


Congress can bring down the price of Rx drugs and save billions by passing #HR3. It allows Medicare to negotiate di…

October 16th, 2019


... the complexities of the Middle East. More civilian casualties, more displacement, and an emboldened Russia and…

October 11th, 2019


I’m appalled by the President’s decision to once again put the interests of foreign dictators ahead of U.S. nationa…


The relevant Committees will be issuing subpoenas to Ambassador Sondland for his testimony and documents. To follow…

October 8th, 2019

Text SizeA A A