Congressional App Challenge

We've launched!

Register today and submit your entry by November 1, 2021.

What is the Congressional App Challenge?

The annual Congressional Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Academic Competition, or the “Congressional App Challenge” is a competition designed to engage student’s creativity and encourage their participation in STEM education fields. Established by Members of the U.S. House of Representatives in 2013, Congresswoman Eshoo was the original co-chair of this competition and ran the pilot competition in 2014.

The Congressional App Challenge allows middle and high school students from across the country to compete by creating and exhibiting their software application, or “app,” for mobile, tablet, or computer devices on a platform of their choice. Throughout the competition period, participating students will be provided opportunities to engage with various STEM educational partners located within the community to mentor and assist them with their app development. The winners have their app displayed in the US Capitol Building and on for a year. Additional prizes may be announced at a later time.

Interested in participating this year?

Details on submitting a contest entry, the rules of the competition, and helpful programming resources can be found at All students entering the competition must first register and submit their entry by providing a YouTube or VIMEO video demo explaining their app and what they learned through the competition process. You can use any video-hosting site, but make sure to set the settings for your video to "public" for the judges to review.

Check to see if you’re eligible:

  • To be eligible to participate in the Congressional App Challenge, you must be a middle or high school student at the time of app submission.
  • Students may register as individuals or as teams of up to four. No more than 4 students are allowed to form a team.
  • Students may compete in the district they reside in or the district they attend school in.
  • If competing as a team, at least two of the teammates must be eligible to compete in the district in which they are participating in.

Can’t wait?

Start working on your app today. Summer is the perfect time to work on your coding skills while you are at home!

Need some inspiration? 

Here are last year's top entries: 

  • 1st place - SurveyHurricane (Audrey Ha)
  • 2nd place (tied) 
  • 3rd place - Jadeocr (Tanay Biradar, Riley Kong)
  • Honorable Mention
    • Calmzilla (Arush Sahasi, Ananya Pradhan, Danika Gupta, Sofia Shah)
    • SuiSense (Ayaan Haque, Adithya Peruvemba, Viraaj Reddi, Ishaan Bhandari)
    • Focal (John Xu, Yingting Sun, Chenglin Que)

You can view videos below for the top entries in 2019 here:

Need some more? Here are the previous winners for CA-18:

  • 2014 winner  – Team Trext (April Chien, Claire Huang, Jolena Ma and Wings Yeung)
  • 2015 winner – Team Mezzo  (Aimee An, Heejung Chung, Claire Huang)
  • 2016 winner –  Team Peer2Peer (Arnav Gudibande, Amar Ramachandran, and Anuv Gupta)
  • 2017 winner – Mere (Olivia Chang)
  • 2018 winner – A Smarter Insulin Pump (Anna Quinlan) – watch the announcement of her win on M-A Live. A Smarter Insulin Pump, assists diabetics with maintaining normal blood glucose levels 24/7.
See here for all the winners in the 222 Congressional districts that participated across 46 states in 2018. You can also check here to see all previous winners of the  Congressional App Challenge nationwide.